man opening beer in car

What Are the Open Container Laws in Illinois?

It’s no secret that drinking and driving is an incredibly dangerous act that not only risks the life of the driver, but others on the road. As such, many states impose strict laws and penalties to deter motorists from committing this crime. One such method of preventing drinking and driving is making it illegal to drive with an open container of alcohol in their vehicles. If you have been accused of violating these laws, understanding how a Peoria traffic ticket lawyer can help you is critical. Additionally, the following blog explores these laws in further detail and the consequences you can face if you are found in violation of these regulations.

What Are Open Container Laws?

In Illinois, like most states, it is against the law to drive with an open container of alcohol in your vehicle. This also extends to the passengers in your vehicle. Essentially if there is an open bottle of alcohol in the passenger section of your vehicle, it can be considered a violation of this law. You are allowed to transport sealed, unopened bottles of alcohol in the passenger portion or cab of your vehicle. Additionally, if you must drive with an open bottle of alcohol in your vehicle, it should be stored in the trunk of your car.

It’s also important to consider that this law typically only applies to passenger vehicles. Limousines, for example, are exempt from these laws in most instances.

You should also note that empty bottles of alcohol generally will not warrant an open container violation, as this is considered trash. However, the officer may then have reason to believe you consumed the alcohol before operating the vehicle.

What Are the Penalties I Can Face If Pulled Over?

If you are pulled over and there is an open bottle of alcohol in your vehicle, you can face intense consequences as a result of this action. Generally, you will face a fine of up to $1,000 for a first offense, but that may increase with each subsequent violation of this law. You also risk losing your license for repeat offenses.

Additionally, if you are under 21 years old, it is illegal for you to possess alcohol in any capacity, meaning you will likely lose your license

It’s also important to understand that if you are pulled over and there is an open bottle of alcohol in your vehicle, you will very likely be subject to a breathalyzer or field sobriety test, as the police officer may have reason to believe you are under the influence of alcohol while operating a vehicle.

As you can see, being caught violating this law in Illinois can pose serious penalties. As such, it’s in your best interest to connect with an experienced criminal defense attorney who can assist you in fighting for justice. At Giraudo Law, we understand how complex these matters can be, which is why we are dedicated to helping you. Connect with us today to learn how we may be able to fight for you.

Website Designed & Managed by