What started as a fun night at a bar with friends can quickly turn sour when you are charged with driving under the influence. As such, your license will likely be revoked for a year. If you get behind the wheel while your license is suspended, this can lead to additional legal troubles. The following blog explores the penalties for driving with a suspended license following a DUI and how a Peoria suspended license lawyer can help you through these challenging times.
In Illinois, anytime someone is caught operating a vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.08% or higher, they can be charged with a DUI. However, it is essential to note that any amount of alcohol in your system can lead you to be charged with a DUI if it inhibits your ability to drive.
You should also know that if you are under the influence of drugs like marijuana and have a concentration of five nanograms or higher, you can be charged with a DUI, as you are driving under the influence of drugs.
It’s also important to note that if you are under 21 and have a BAC of 0.01% or higher, you can face a DUI. This is because it is illegal for anyone under 21 to consume alcohol.
In the event you are caught driving with a suspended license following a DUI charge, the penalties can be severe. In Illinois, a first-time driving with a revoked license offense is charged as a Class A misdemeanor. You can face a mandatory minimum of ten days in prison or 30 days community service, a fine of up to $2,500, vehicle impoundment, and an extended suspension double the initial revocation period.
If you drive without a license for a second time, the charges become more severe. This warrants a Class 4 felony charge, and the penalties will increase. You can face up to thirty days in prison or 300 community service hours and a longer suspension period.
Illinois has several steps a driver must take for the opportunity to re-obtain their license following a DUI-related suspension. This includes paying all fees, completing an alcohol education course, installing an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, and obtaining special insurance, known as SR-22 coverage.
As you can see, the penalties for driving with a suspended license following a DUI charge are severe in Illinois. That’s why it’s in your best interest to enlist the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible when you are facing charges. At Giraudo Law, our team will explore every avenue to help you achieve the best possible outcome for your circumstances. Contact us today to learn how we can fight for you.