As you know, an allegation of domestic violence can have devastating impacts on a person’s life. Not only can it warrant years of incarceration, high fines, and other legal and financial penalties, but it can also tarnish, or even ruin a person’s reputation. If you are currently accused of committing an act of domestic violence, you need a dedicated Peoria domestic violence lawyer in your corner. Fortunately, you are in the right place. Contact Giraudo Law, Inc. today to schedule your initial consultation with our firm.
Domestic Violence Lawyer | Here to Protect Your Reputation & Future
Are you accused of committing an act of domestic violence? If so, you need a dedicated Peoria County criminal defense lawyer in your corner who can protect you. Giraudo Law, Inc. has decades of experience representing individuals accused of domestic violence, and we are here to put that experience to work for you in your case as well.
Penalties for Domestic Violence Offenses in Illinois
Domestic violence offenses in Illinois are classified as either misdemeanors or felonies, depending on the severity of the injury, the relationship between the parties, the presence of a weapon, and the defendant’s prior criminal history. The penalties for domestic violence offenses in Illinois are as follows:
- Class A misdemeanor: This is the most common charge for domestic battery, which involves causing bodily harm or making physical contact of an insulting or provoking nature with a family or household member. The penalty for a class A misdemeanor is up to one year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.
- Class 4 felony: Aggravated domestic battery is considered a class 4 felony in Illinois. Aggravated domestic battery involves causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement to a family or household member. Upon conviction, you will face anywhere between one and three years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
- Class 3 felony: Domestic battery with a prior conviction is considered a class 3 felony in Illinois. Upon conviction, you will face anywhere between two and five years of incarceration and a potential fine of up to $25,000.
- Class 2 felony: If you’re arrested for aggravated domestic battery with a prior conviction, you’ll face a class 2 felony, which entails anywhere between three and seven years in prison, as well as a potential $25,000 fine.
- Class 1 felony: Aggravated domestic battery with a firearm is considered a Class 1 felony. This charge involves using or discharging a firearm during the commission of aggravated domestic battery. The penalty for a class 1 felony is four to 15 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $25,000.
- Class X felony: Aggravated domestic battery with a firearm enhancement, which involves causing great bodily harm, permanent disability, or disfigurement to a family or household member by using or discharging a firearm during the commission of aggravated domestic battery is considered a class X felony. The penalty for a class X felony is six to 30 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.
Defenses Used in Domestic Violence Cases
Of course, the specific defense that we will use in your case will depend largely on the circumstances of your charge. However, some of the most common defenses used in domestic violence cases include:
- Self-defense, or defending another family member.
- False accusation, meaning the allegation of a violent act was entirely fabricated.
- Mental illness.
- Lack of evidence, in cases where there is insufficient evidence to prove that a person actually committed an act of domestic violence.
Contact Giraudo Law, Inc.
If you’re facing accusations of domestic violence, the time to act is now. Do not stand idly by and face these charges on your own. Contact a strong and competent domestic violence lawyer from Giraudo Law, Inc. today.