If you have been arrested for driving under the influence (DUI), you need an experienced and aggressive DUI lawyer to defend your rights and fight for your future. DUI charges can have serious consequences, ranging from fines and license suspension to jail time and a permanent criminal record. Don’t make the mistake of facing a DUI charge of any kind without a competent Peoria DUI lawyer in your corner who can help protect you at every turn. Continue reading and contact Giraudo Law, Inc. today so we can get started working on your case.
Being charged with a DUI can be a frightening experience. That said, with the right Peoria County criminal defense lawyer in your corner, it does not have to be so overwhelming. Giraudo Law, Inc. has decades of experience representing individuals who’ve been charged with crimes here in Illinois, and we are prepared to represent you as well.
Importantly, you should first understand what may constitute a DUI in Illinois. Anyone who is arrested with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or higher will be arrested and charged with a DUI. That said, there are some cases where a BAC of even less can warrant a DUI. For example, if law enforcement determines that a driver is under the influence of drugs, they may still receive a DUI charge. Additionally, if the driver is under the age of 21, they can receive a DUI for having any amount of alcohol in their system. Also, if someone is operating a commercial vehicle, meaning they have a commercial driver’s license (CDL), they may receive a DUI charge for driving with a BAC of just .04%.
A first-offense DUI in Illinois is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Additionally, you will face a minimum one-year license suspension, which can be reduced to six months if you install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle. You will also most likely have to attend alcohol education or treatment programs, perform community service, and pay court costs and fees. Rather obviously, even a first-offense DUI can have significant and long-lasting penalties, so it is imperative that you hire a competent Peoria DUI lawyer who can help fight your charges at every turn.
A second-offense DUI in Illinois is also a Class A misdemeanor, but with enhanced penalties. This means that if you are charged with a DUI for a second time, you will most likely face a mandatory minimum of five days in jail, or 240 hours of community service, and a fine of up to $2,500. Your license also will be suspended for at least five years, which can be reduced to one year if you install an IID in your vehicle. You will also most likely have to attend alcohol education or treatment programs, perform community service, and pay court costs and fees.
A third-offense DUI in Illinois is considered a Class 2 felony, which is punishable by three to seven years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000. Your driver’s license will be revoked for a minimum of 10 years, with no possibility of obtaining a restricted driving permit (RDP) or an IID. You will also have to attend alcohol education or treatment programs, perform community service, and pay court costs and fees. Don’t face a third DUI on your own. Your future hangs in the balance. Our firm is here to fight for you.
If you are under 21 years old and caught driving with any amount of alcohol in your system, you will be charged with an underage DUI in Illinois, under the state’s zero-tolerance law. This essentially means that even a trace of alcohol can result in a DUI conviction. An underage DUI is a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. A first offense will warrant a three-month driver’s license suspension, and a second offense can warrant a one-year driver’s license suspension. Additionally, if you refuse to submit to chemical testing, you will face a six-month driver’s license suspension for a first offense, and a two-year driver’s license suspension for a second refusal conviction.
Notably, however, first-time underage offenders may receive a restrictive driving permit after 30 days of their suspension, which gives them the right to drive to and from school, work, and medical appointments. Second-time underage offenders may receive a restrictive driving permit after 12 months of their suspension.
If you hold a commercial driver’s license and are arrested for DUI in Illinois, you will face harsher penalties than non-commercial drivers. This is because commercial drivers are, in a way, held to a higher standard than other motorists.
A CDL DUI is a Class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Your CDL will be disqualified for a minimum of one year for a first offense, and for life for a second or subsequent offense. You will also have to attend alcohol education or treatment programs, perform community service, and pay court costs and fees. Additionally, as mentioned earlier, unlike other “standard” DUI charges, you can receive a CDL DUI for operating a commercial vehicle with a BAC of only .04%.
If you recently received a DUI with a CDL, you need a competent DUI lawyer in your corner, as not only are you up against a wide range of serious penalties, but your livelihood is also on the line. Fortunately, if you are reading this, you are in the right place. Giraudo Law, Inc. is here to represent you and be your number one advocate through each step of the process ahead.
Don’t make the mistake of facing your DUI charge without a competent Peoria DUI lawyer in your corner. Our firm has decades of experience representing clients charged with driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol, and we are here to put that experience to work for you in your case as well. Contact Giraudo Law, Inc. today to schedule your free case evaluation with our dedicated Peoria-based criminal defense firm.