person in handcuffs holding money

What Are the Penalties for Felony Theft Convictions in Illinois?

Facing any felony charge can be overwhelming. Unfortunately, many in Illinois are unaware of the severity of felony theft convictions, leading them to assume they will face a simple slap on the wrist. This is far from the truth, and the penalties you can face are intense. As such, it’s imperative to connect with an experienced Peoria theft lawyer to help examine the circumstances surrounding your case to provide you with the best advice about how to proceed for your unique circumstances. Keep reading to learn more about these charges.

What Warrants a Felony Theft Charge in Illinois?

In Illinois, theft occurs when someone intentionally and knowingly takes another person’s property to deprive them of their property permanently. Generally, if you steal property from a school or place of worship, or have committed theft previously, you will face a Class 4 felony charge. However, any time you steal property worth more than $500, you will face a Class 3 felony.

What Consequences Can I Face if Convicted?

Under Illinois Law, the felony charge you face depends on the value of the stolen item. As such, you can face the following penalties:

  • Class 3 felony: Theft of property from the owner’s person (such as taking a bracelet physically off someone’s body) up to $500; theft of property from $500 to $1,000 in value. Punishable by two to five years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.
  • Class 2 felony: Theft of property valued at $10,000 to $100,000, warrants three to seven years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.
  • Class 1 felony: Theft of property $100,000 to $500,000 in value, carrying four to fifteen years in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
  • Class 1 felony (non-probational): Theft of property valued at $500,000 to $1,000,000, warranting four to fifteen years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines.
  • Class X felony: Theft of property valued at or over $1,000,000, punishable by six to thirty years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.

If I’m Under Arrest, What Should I Do?

If you are placed under arrest for allegedly committing theft, it is imperative to act accordingly. The first thing you should do is invoke your right to remain silent. You may want to try to tell the police why you are innocent, but this is not recommended. When you speak to the police, anything you say to them can be used against you. As such, the police can twist your words to use them against you at a later point.

When facing criminal charges, you should contact an experienced attorney as soon as possible. At Giraudo Law, our dedicated legal team will do everything possible. As such, our dedicated legal team will do everything in our power to help you by exploring all potential defenses for these matters. Connect with us today to learn how we can assist you through these challenging matters.

Website Designed & Managed by